Posted by: Jessie | August 25, 2009

Packing


Packing is probably my least favorite part of any trip. I’m always afraid I’m going to forget something. Tonight I’m doing laundry so that I can get ready to pack.
UPF fishing shirts, check
Pants that zip off into shorts, check
SPF 30 sunscreen, check
Wide brimmed hat, check
Shoes that may get ruined on the salt, check
Race gear, check
Swim suit for the hot tub back at the hotel, check

Actually, I’m feeling a bit conflicted about the long sleeved fishing shirts. Last year I did such a good job protecting myself from the sun that I did not even get a hint of a tan. I guess that’s good. The salt has a history of burning people where they least expect it. The sun reflects up off the salt, so people tend to get burned on the underside of their noses, on the underside of their skirts, etc. So part of me wants to wear tank tops so I can get SOME sun so it will at least look like I’ve been on vacation. But another part of me doesn’t feel like it’s worth the risk of getting a burn and possibly ruining my vacation. There is no shade on the salt, except that which you bring, so it is easy to get too much sun.

I will probably get a trucker’s tan on the way home.

Eric made hotel reservations for the trip tonight. We’re going to zoom out there as fast as we can, but we are going to take an extra day coming back so we can do some sight seeing. We are going to stop in St. Louis for a night and I’m hoping we’ll get a chance to go up in the arch! I bet I could take some nice pictures from there!

Early morning on the salt

Early morning on the salt

Leave a Reply

Categories

