Posted by: Jessie | August 26, 2009

Bike Night


Bike Night at the Comet

Bike Night at the Comet

So tonight was Bike Night at the Comet.  This is very different from Bike Night at Quaker Steak and Lube.  It’s much smaller, and people you don’t even know are very happy to meet you and chat with you.  I did not get all the bikes in the picture.  There were at least 20 bikes out front.  Some were very interesting bikes that you don’t see very often.  Randy had his Trident there, there was an old kick-start Norton.  There was a short young girl with the latest Sportster model.  Eric had his shiny BMW R100 and I had my stinky rat bike.  There was a shiny new Triumph Bonneville, Ducatis, KTMs, Suzukis, etc.

So there was there very interesting girl there.  She just bought her first bike and has put 2000 miles in it since July.  She rides to work.  She goes for a ride after work.  She rides all day on her day off.  I remember when I was like that.  I was a much better rider back then.  I rode so much is was reflex.  I didn’t have to think about it, I just rode.  And by riding all the time I was much more “in the flow.”  Riding to work makes the whole day go smoother, because you are “in the flow.”  Riding home make a bad day at work go away.  The wind blows all the crap off you.  By the time you get home you are already over it.

I’m trying to figure out how to get back to that.  It was so easy back then.  I rode to work, I rode to school.  I just rode.  But now I really don’t want to ride to work because Hamilton Avenue between home and work has been under construction almost the entire time I’ve been working there.  Riding through construction zones is not only not fun, it’s not safe.  Right now the street is full of big metal plates.  Very slick to ride over on a bike.  Once they finish the construction I still won’t want to ride to work because by the bike won’t even have had time to warm up by the time I get there.  Very short rides are not so good for the engine.  Plus the parking lot is full of thugs.  I would be worried about my bike getting stolen or vandalized while I work.

So if I’m not riding to work, how can I get riding back into my daily life?  Lately it seems that I come home from work, let the dogs out and feed them, make dinner, clean up dinner, check my email and go to bed.  My weekends seem to be mostly consumed by chores and errands.  I need to think of a way to change my routine to include more riding, but without neglecting my doggies.  I wish Cami and Grover could fit on the bike.  Too much routine and not enough riding is making me old.   Maybe I will figure it out before I get back from Bonneville.

 

Randy's picture of Bike Night

Randy's picture of Bike Night. Notice how nicely Eric's BMW catches the light...

Leave a Reply

Categories

