Posted by: Jessie | September 9, 2009

Racing on the Salt, Day 3


I don’t remember if I explained this already… In order to get a record first you go down the track, then you take the bike to impound where they “seal” your engine to make sure you don’t do anything to change it before you make your return run.  Your return run is going the opposite direction down the track.  They take the average of your two times and this is your record time.  This way if the wind is helping going one way it will be working against you going the other way, so you don’t have an unfair advantage.

Only one racer is allowed on the track at a time.  That way the old 1955 bikes that only go about 85 to 100 mph won’t get crashed into by the modern bikes that go much faster.  (Leslie Porterfield set a new record of 240 mph on her Hyabusa.)

On 9/2/09 it was Eric’s turn to race.  His down run (at 109.573 mph) and his return run (at 108.184) were the best times so far.   It looked like he had the new record of  108.8785 mph in our class (altered vintage gas 500cc).

Next it was my turn to run.  I was riding in the same class with Eric.  My down run clocked in at 106.055 mph.  Not bad for a first run.  My return run was even better, 111.807 mph!  This is the fastest anyone has ever gone on that bike!  The average between my two runs was 108.931 mph!  It looked like I had the new record!

I figured that if I could get 111.8 mph on a return run (return runs are usually slower than down runs) then I could certainly go at least 110 both ways!  I got back in line to try to do another pair of runs.  Unfortunately the day was getting hotter and hotter.  The girl who rode right before me got lost on the track and instead of going the usual 2 miles and shutting down and getting off the track she rode and rode and rode.  For a few minutes the spotters couldn’t even find her.  I was sitting on the starting line for about 10 minutes waiting for the track to clear before I could go.  During this time the bike started to overheat, and so did I.  That run clocked in at 105.826 mph.  So slow I did not bother with a return run.  We called it a day.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

