Posted by: Jessie | December 27, 2009

Knoxville, 12/27/09


So the hotel Eric picked out for me is charming.  He stayed here on a business trip (or two?) 

Crowne Plaza, Knoxville, TN

So there is a big church convention happening here every Christmas, so I don’t have to worry about any Dwayne’s here being inappropriate.  The place is full of Christians.  It’s right across the street from Market Square, which is full of interesting bars, restaurants, and boutiques.  The restaurant Eric recommended to me was closed tonight because it’s Sunday.

Entrance to Market Square. Behind this Christmas tree is an ice skating rink, much like the one at Fountain Square in Cincinnati.

The sign says "Christmas in the City." This is a romantic little park on the other side of Market Square. It has a little stream going through it and a waterfall.

Turn left after the Christamas in the city park and you see this tree. I walked past the tree and turned left, putting me on another main street in downtown Knoxville.

I had dinner at a place called Saphire. It is a restaurant/bar built into an old fancy Jewelry store.

I wasn’t especially hungry, so I got stuffed mushroom caps off the appetizer menu.  Wow!  Yummy.  Eating something actually made me hungrier, but not enough for an entre.  The bartender recommended the mac & cheese, which is made with boursin and garlic cream, so I ordered that.  Wow!  I asked him for a drink I couldn’t have at home and he served me a cab from Salmon Creek that was just wonderful! 

Maybe I’ll go back to Saphire tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

Categories

