Posted by: Jessie | December 28, 2009

Enjoy the Dragon, with very little traffic


So it was 26 degrees when I woke up yesterday morning.  I had not planned on riding when it was that cold, heated liner or not.  What if there is ice on the road?  But after waiting around and waiting around the hotel I finally decided to go, freezing temperatures or not.  It was 30 degrees when I left the hotel.  I rode down 129 and then down to Robbinsville and back.  It was a truly beautiful ride.  Part of it was twisty mountain road and part was twisty river road, right next to white water.

The hype says “SLAY THE DRAGON!”  129 is a very nicely paved piece of road.  Inside the gap it is very smooth and banked beautifully.  But what they don’t tell you about Deal’s Gap is that on one side of the road is a steep mountain and on the other side is a steep cliff.  No shoulder.  At all.  If you cross the white line you will either crash into the side of a mountain or go tumbling off it.  No room for error.  That’s what intimidated me.  If the police had been out that day, I probably would have gotten a speeding ticket.  But I did not “slay” the Dragon.  I enjoyed the Dragon.

I saw two other bikes out there.  One was riding two up.  They were both light sport bikes.  I’m guessing they were locals because they did not have super warm gear on, and it was cold outside.  They were only going a little faster then I was.

 Anyway, this whole area is full of lovely roads.  There are some scenic overlooks, but most of them are gravel.  I did get one really nice picutre.

Scenic overlook on 129, right before entering Deal's Gap

I did stop at the famous motorcycle resort on the other side of the Gap.  They were closd up, but I walked around and took a few pictures.

Notice the sawhorses and "Closed" sign. Bummer.

The famous "Tree of Shame"

129 is an all-over lovely road.  Before the Gap it follows the lake, after the Gap it follows the river.  Right now the river is high, beautiful white water.  If you follow it to Robbinsville you will end up at the Skyway Convience store.  Turn right to go to the Cherohala Skyway.  This is a good place to gas up and use the bathroom.  They have VERY nice bathrooms.  Very clean.  Baskets of potpourri on the back of the toilets.  Silk plants.  Christmas decorations. Vanilla scented hand lotion.   Made my day.  They people there were very nice and friendly.  They have a nice selection of “Ride the Dragon” souvineers, snacks and beverages.

This is a great place to gass up, shop for souviers, and grab a snack.

They have lovely restrooms.

Responses

  1. I laughed when I read this post. My lovely wife Rosemary, whom you have met at club meetings, always notices and comments on the rest rooms.

    I found it refreshing that you, a motorcyclist, would at least comment on other amenities before mentioning the toilet.

    Ride on, girl!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

