Posted by: Jessie | February 1, 2010

Firstgear Heated Liner Review Update


I first wrote about this heated liner here: https://adventuresofjessieanderic.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/gear-review/  Today I thought I would add an update. 

The good news is that it did not snow this weekend.  It snowed a little during the week, but the snow didn’t stick.  The bad news is that it was cold out.  Remember when I went to Deal’s Gap and I rode when the weather was in the 30’s?  Well, Saturday it was in the 20’s.  I figured, “No problem.  I have a heated liner.”  So I set off about 3:00 on Saturday afternoon for a short ride.  I set my liner on the heat setting I usually use, and by the time I got to the gas station I was freezing.  So I filled up the tank and cranked up the heat on my liner.  Then I hopped onto 74 and headed out of town.  By the time I got to Rybolt Rd exit, I was freezing.  So I pulled over into the Hard Tails parking lot to crank up the heat some more.  I continued my ride down Miami River Road, and only had to turn the heat up one more time before I got home.  Actually, when I got on the highway again I would have liked to turn it up some more. 

When I first got this heated liner I thought it had more heat then I would ever need.  That day I only turned it halfway and I was too warm.  Last weekend it was too warm.  Not this Saturday.  I had it turned up 3/4 of the way and when I got on the highway I was cold again.  I think I’m going to have to find a way to mount the control on the bike so I can adjust it as I am riding.  I definitely need more heat when I’m on the highway then when riding on surface streets.  I certainly don’t want too much heat.  I imagine that the more I use the liner the closer I will get to finding the balance for each riding condition.

I had to be a bit more cautious then usual on this ride because there was some salt on the road.  The great thing is that I had the whole place to myself.  I had stopped riding that route last summer because there were too many cars, motorcycles, and police pulling people over for speeding.  This time I barely even saw any cars.  No motorcycles today.  I love riding with no traffic!  I’ll have to do winter riding more often!

10/25/11 Update:

I love my heated jacket liner!  I put velcro on the back on the heat controller and a patch of velcro on my jacket pocket, now I can reach it easily while riding.  It is a very thin layer under my jacket, so it does not feel bulky at all.  They say that it is designed to be “temperature neutral” but it does hold in some heat, so just wearing it as an extra layer keeps me warmer than without it.  It also works as a windbreaker when I get to wherever I’m riding too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

