Posted by: Jessie | February 5, 2010

Pernod Absinthe


So I was sitting at the bar at the Comet the other day and I noticed a bottle of Pernod sitting behind the bar, next to the Sambucca.  “That’s interesting.”  I thought, “I didn’t expect to see that here!”  So I ordered a shot.  In a wine glass.  And a glass of ice water.  They used to have an absinthe spoon and sugar cubes, but I guess that disappeared along with their bottle of spanish absinthe refined.  (“Absinthe refined” means no wormwood.) 

It’s a lovely Peridot color.  I was disappointed when Eric looked at the bottle and said “It says it’s artificially colored.”  Fooled me.  It’s a similar color to Lucid, which is naturally colored. 

Pernod, half louched

The flavor is “Big Fat Juicy Black Jelly Bean.”  I mixed it with water, no sugar, to get the true flavor of the absinthe.  At first sip it presented some natural sweetness, with a long lingering slightly bitter finish.  Adding some sugar would not hurt this absinthe.  The predominate flavors are Anise and Fennel, with little other herbal flavors coming through.  It reminds me of Lucid.  Only Lucid is more complex. 

For a more detailed review, check out the Absinthe Buyer’s Guide:  http://www.feeverte.net/guide/country/france/pernod_68_aux_extrait_dabsinth/ 

Pernod was one of the original absinthe producers.  After absinthe was banned they took the wormwood out and changed their recipe a little and made pastis.  It is my understanding that the modern Pernod Absinthe is closer in flavor to the Pernod Pastis then it is to the original Pernod Absinthe.  I doubt that I will ever have the chance to taste 100-year-old absinthe, so I will have to take their word for it.

Responses

  1. Yes, it is artificially colored. For that reason alone it’s not very well thought of in the absinthe community. Despite their marketing campaign, the only thing modern Pernod has in common with the original is it’s name. I have had a chance to sample some vintage Pernod Fils and they taste nothing alike. I guess if that’s the only absinthe they had it’s better than no absinthe at all 🙂

  2. Hi Jack! That’s awesome that you’ve been able to taste vintage absinthe. Which ones have you tried and what would you compare them to?

  3. […] Other articles on absinthe: Lucid, with review and recipes.  St. George, La Clandestine, Jade Nouvelle Orleans, Corsair Red, Vieux Carre, Pernod, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

