Posted by: Jessie | May 17, 2010

Still haven’t rode the new bike, but the women of AMA ROCK!


Saturday morning I got up early, put Lucas fuel system cleaner in the Suzuki GS550L, and rode off to do my errands.  It took me all morning and most of the afternoon Saturday to go to various BMV offices to get the Guzzi title transferred to my name and to get a license plate.  I got a beautiful plate.  Really.  They asked me if I wanted the old “Red, White and Blue plate” or the new “Beautiful plate.”  It has pretty colors and says “Beautiful Ohio” on it.

Then I went to Len’s to put the new plate on the new bike.  Len came out of the shop and asked me if I had a gas leak.  He could smell it from around the corner.  Bummer.  Looks like the Lucas fuel cleaner is not enough to clean out the Suzuki’s carbs.  It’s still spilling gas on my shoes.  He was nice enough to let me store that stinky bike at his shop over night so that I could take the Guzzi for a ride.  By that time it was getting late, so I headed home.  I got home in time to do my chores, make dinner, clean up dinner, and then head out to Quaker Steak and Lube to watch the race.  I had planned to ride the Guzz to Quaker Steak and Lube, but by the time we were ready to go it was cold, the wind had picked up, and the weatherman was predicting thunderstorms.  We rode in Eric’s car.

The American Superbike race was great.  Josh Hayes kicked butt.  He was all alone out front for a long time while the other guys battled it out for second and third.  I love the way he uses his victory lap to shake his competitor’s hands.  Daytona Superbike race was next, Melissa Paris finished 20.  I also found out about another female racer.  Elena Myers is only 16 years old.  She is in 10th grade.  She is racing with the professionals.  This past Saturday she became the first woman in AMA Pro Racing’s 76-year history to finish First.  You Go Girl. 

Don’t believe me?  Check out this article: http://www.ultimatemotorcycling.com/2010/elena-myers-10th-grade-female-ama-road-racing-history

Elena Myers becomes the first woman on an AMA race podium!

I did not get to see Sunday’s races, but race results show Josh Hayes had another first, Melissa Paris was up to 15th, and Elena Myers finished 5th.  All Rockin’ Results!  You can keep track of it here: http://www.amaproracing.com/rr/

So I was going to ride the Guzzi on Sunday.  But I wanted to get my errands done first.  My first errand was to take the dogs to the dog park.  They have been so restless lately.  They played a bit, then they were just standing around.  I thought I would stir them up by running around.  They always chase me when I run.  Well, I tripped and landed hard on my knees.  Ouch.  I haven’t fallen like that since I was a kid.  It was a while before I could get up off the ground.  I put the dogs in the car and finished the rest of my errands.  When I got home I took 3 ibuprofen and laid down.  I could barely bend my knees.  There was no way I was going to be able to ride that day.  Bummer.  I asked Eric to take the bike back to Len’s so he could work on it this week.

Eric was gone a long time.  Guess what?  He went for a ride.  It’s not fair.  My husband gets to ride my new bike before I do.  Whine whine whine.

So now it’s Monday.  The swelling in my knees has gone down, but they still hurt.  I can’t wear my jeans because they press on the bruises too much and it hurts.  I’m guessing it will stop hurting by Wednesday.


Leave a comment

Categories