Posted by: Jessie | September 5, 2010

Augusta


I stayed at the open house until about 2:30.  It was such a nice day I could not resist going for a ride.  I got on my little Guzzi and rode South into Kentucky, I took KY 10 until I started seeing signs for Augusta, then I followed the signs.  KY 10 is a lovely twisty little road that goes through some hilly farm country.  It took me about two hours to get to Augusta from Cincinnati.   

Augusta is a nice little historic Kentucky town on the river.  They have great little shops, restaurants, and historical buildings.  Rosemary Clooney is from there.  She’s a famous singer from the 50’s and 60’s.  If you haven’t heard of her then surely you have heard of her nephew, George Clooney.   

This weekend Augusta is having Heritage Days.  There are all sorts booths and things set up along the street.  I was thirsty and my back was hurting from my long ride, the Guzzi has a forward seating position that I am not used to.  Instead of visiting all the booths and shopping I decided to check out the Augusta Pub.   

The Augusta Irish Pub is on Main Street

You may be wondering why I frequently choose pubs and taverns when I am out on rides.  Especially since I usually order a Diet Coke.  Pubs and Taverns have nice bathrooms.  And I can stand at the bar and stretch my legs.  They usually have a nice, relaxed atmosphere.   

The bar at the Augusta Pub

This pub had an interesting menu, especially the appetizers.  They have fried pickles, pub fries (with two different kinds of cheese and bacon!) among other things.  I got the mozzarella wraps.  These are mozzarella sticks wrapped in tortillas and then deep fried.  Like a cheese stuffed Tostito!  Yummy.   

Mozzarella Wraps

After my snack and two Diet Cokes I got back on the road.  I took KY 8 back to Newport.  KY 8 is another nice little two lane road that follows the river.  I caught up to a couple of couples on Harleys and decided to stay behind them because the speedo is not working on my Guzzi.  It’s a good thing I did.  A police car went by us about half way between Augusta and Newport.  Thanks to the Harleys, I did not get a speeding ticket.  It only took me about an hour to get home.

Leave a Reply

Categories

