Posted by: Jessie | October 29, 2010

Friday Night Out


It all started when we met up with The Keller.  She became our guide Friday evening.  Apparently she knows just about everybody.  We went looking for Molly at Neon’s, she is there for Happy Hour on Tuesdays and Fridays.  It’s a neat little bar with a great patio.  Molly made Eric a Cucumber Thyme Gimlet, and I had a Pumpkin Margarita.  What can I say?  They were yummy, up to the usual Molly standard. 

After our Molly drink we went looking for food.  Senate had a half hour wait for a seat, so we went to The Lackman for another drink.  The Keller knows the manager.  Another neat bar.  They have a nice selection of beers.  I had an interesting beer that I have never had before, but I can’t remember the name of it.  It’s an IPA, but it’s on a nitrogen tap.  The nitrogen makes it creamy like a Guiness and takes some of the edge off, but it’s still a big IPA with all the bitterness you would expect.  Beware of the pretzels at The Lackman.  They have several yummy flavors and they mix them together.  After eating a surprise hot pretzel you will down more beer, thus getting loaded faster than you meant to. 

After we finished our beer we headed back to Senate.  I’ve blogged about Senate before.  Now I have to blog it again.  Our bartender Mike made me the best Old Fashioned I’ve ever had!

Mike makes the best Old Fashioned in town!

This time we had mussels and truffle fries.  Wow!  I like mussels, and I have had mussels at many restaurants in town.  These were different.  These were the best mussels I’ve ever had!  And the truffle fries…  Mmmmmm…  And dessert… we had the chocolate and bourbon bread pudding.  Spectacular!  I was so estatic that I forgot to take a picture.  After dinner Eric and I headed home, The Keller went on to Motor and then Grammers.  I hear that Grammers is a really wild time.  I don’t think I will ever make it to Grammers.  I think I am too old and too lame.  But if I ever do go, I will be sure to blog it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

