Posted by: Jessie | November 1, 2010

Sweet Saturday-Sunday!


Saturday my friend Jess invited us over for brunch.  That girl can cook!  She made us her special juevos rancheros.  Eggs cooked in salsa and cheese wrapped in a tortilla and topped off with chilli and sour cream.  Yummy!  And she made hash browns.  We also had Mimosas and fruit salad.  What a great way to start the day!

After brunch we went home and I worked on my bike for a while.  My old battery finally died.  I had been warned about a year ago that it was on its last legs.  It surprised me and lasted about a year longer then I expected.  I had a new battery ready.  But it gets more complicated.  When Awesome Dude Mike Schultz installed a low seat for me, he had to make some modifications so it would fit.  The tool box took up too much room under the seat, so it had to go.  But the brain box was mounted to the tool box.  He had to figure out a new way to mount the brain box.  And he did.  But what he created was one of those puzzles that can only be taken apart one way, and each step has to be done in order, or else you have to go back and re-do it.  Did I mention that all this is on top of the battery?  It took me a long time to figure out how to remove the brain and the old battery.  The new battery dropped into place so easily… but… the new battery was taller than the old battery.  The bolts that were supposed to hold it in were not long enough. 

Did I mention that I started this project last weekend?  Eric ordered a meter-long threaded rod Sunday night.  It arrived Tuesday.  On Wednesday Eric made it into two long screws that would hold the battery cover down.  I didn’t get back to this project until Saturday.  It took me an hour to figure out how to attach the battery cover and the brain and get it all bolted down.  The bummer is that now I had a half-inch less room to do it in than before.  I put it together and took it apart so many times… I wanted to scream!   Finally I got it together and was ready to go for a test run.

I went inside to gear up, when I picked up my phone I saw a text from The Keller.  She had to go look at a 919 right NOW.  The guy selling it knocked $800 off the price if she bought it THIS WEEKEND.  Excellent.  By the time I was done gearing up she was here to pick me up.  We got a little lost finding the place, but the guy was really nice.  He let us take his (souped up) 919 for a test ride.  Can you believe he actually put a bigger sprocket on it to make it even tourqueier?  Aftermarket exhaust and turn signals, etc.  Nice!  Really sweet bike.  The Keller fell in love with it.  She asked me if I wanted to ride it.  I declined.  I was afraid I would fall in love with it too. 

We met up with Eric and had dinner at the Comet to discuss it.  Is there anything we haven’t taken into account?  What other questions do we need to ask?  Etc.  The Keller decided to get it.  We went with her to seal the deal and pick up the bike on Sunday morning.  Then we went to brunch at the Comet to celebrate!

The Keller with her new (to her) 919

Leave a Reply

Categories

