Posted by: Jessie | December 21, 2011

Christmas Martini!


We were wandering down the gin isle at our local booze store and discussing which brand of gin to get this time.  The different brands each have a different flavor profile.  I saw the North Shore bottle and it piqued my interest.  I’ve read about North Shore Distillery, and they are doing some interesting things.  I’ve had their absinthe and enjoyed it, so we decided to try their gin.  We also thought we would try a new vermouth.  We really like Vaya, but it is a bit pricey.  This time we bought Dolin.  We took them home and tried them out.

Many people buy cheap vermouth, open it, use a little, and then put it in the liquor cabinet to sit forever.  No wonder so many people think they don’t like vermouth.  Vermouth is really wine steeped with herbs.  Cheap vermouth starts with cheap wine.  Once opened it starts to oxidize.  It stays fresher longer when stored in the refrigerator.

I really like this Dolin vermouth.  It is not super dry like some other vermouths.  It is herbal, but not overwhelmingly so.  It is well balanced.  It’s not cheap, but not overly expensive either.

When I was in college my roommate introduced me to gin.  I thought it was horrible.  I thought it tasted like Pine Sol.  Many many years later my husband introduced me to gin that comes in a glass bottle, not a plastic one.  I discovered that some gin can be very good.

North Shore Gin no 11 turned out to be quite a treat.  This delightful gin is based on the traditional London Dry Gin profile.  Juniper aromas tickle the nose like a freshly cut Christmas tree.  Juniper flavor comes through clearly and crisply along with other herbal notes.  This is a well balanced gin.

Together these two make a delightful martini.  Balanced, herbal and woodsy.  I would not dream of putting an olive in this martini.  This one gets a lemon twist!  This was the perfect drink to sip as we put up the artificial Christmas tree.  The juniper aroma from the gin filled in the aroma that the tree was missing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

