Posted by: Jessie | April 22, 2012

500 Miles From Macon, GA to Venice, FL


I got up early the next morning.  The Weather Channel announced a high wind warning, and it was supposed to get even more windy as the day went on.  The large fairing on my bike catches the wind like a sail, which can make riding on windy days very challenging.  I wanted to get on the road early.

I filled my hydration pack with ice, packed up the bike, and got on the road.  I drove for an hour before I stopped for breakfast; a piece of fruit and some yogurt.  It was easy to slip back into a rhythm.

Georgia is a very pretty state.  I enjoyed driving through it, even though I was on I75 the whole time.  Traffic moves very quickly on 75 south of Kentucky.  The speed limit is 70, but most of the traffic goes faster than that.  This turned out to be a good thing.  As the wind picked up and my bike started to blow all over the road, the extra speed was just what I needed to keep the bike stabilized. 

Florida is very pretty too.  The weather was warm.  On this leg of the trip I really appreciated my hydration pack.  I refilled it several time at rest stop drinking fountains.  I put some Mio flavoring in the water so I didn’t notice if it tasted different than Cincinnati water.  The Florida Welcome Center gave out free orange juice, free maps, and free brochures on things to do in every part of Florida.  I did take a free map, which came in handy later in the trip.  The orange juice was tempting, but I passed it up because I was trying to avoid sugar.  I ate a piece of fruit out of my cooler instead.

Both Eric and my Dad were worried about me taking this trip by myself, so I tried out a couple of different tracking programs.  One is Google Latitude and the other is Glympse.  Google Latitude shows my location on the map to the people I “friend” through Google Latitude.  Glympse is a program that allows me to send a “glympse” to whomever I chose.  I can send it to their email or to their phone.  When they look at it they can see my location on a map.  What I didn’t realize is that it also tells my speed.  When I arrived at Dad’s condo one of the first things he said to me was “You made good time.  One time when I looked at your Glympse it said you were going 83 miles an hour.”  He was very disapproving.  I didn’t tell him I needed the speed to fight the wind.  I didn’t want to scare him.

By the time I got to Dad’s condo, I was hungry!  I had only been snacking all day and had not had any real meals.  He took us out to eat at a place on the beach called Sharky’s.  They had yummy mixed drinks.  You know, the kind you drink on vacation!  They had yummy seafood too.  The music was pretty good.  The service was not good, and the waitress made excuses and blamed others.  Oh well.  We had fun anyway.  How could I not have fun.  I was having dinner on the beach!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

