Posted by: Jessie | April 28, 2012

On The Road Again


The next day Stefanie, Rob, and the children got on a plane and flew back to Wisconsin.  Dad and Marilyn took me to St. Pete Powersports to pick up my bike.  They gave us the old parts to take back with us.

Dad believes that motorcycles are dangerous, so he was trying to get someone to say “It’s lucky she didn’t crash and die” but nobody would say that.  He kept asking “If this part had given out when she was on the highway, what would have happened?”  Well, I explained to him I would have lost power and had to pull over.  In his mind “losing power” means that I would have gone from 50 mph to 0 mph instantly.  He doesn’t seem to understand that my motorcycle has a manual transmission, which means that I would have pulled in the clutch or shifted into neutral.  This would allow me to coast along and lose speed gradually.  I would have used the brake to slow down and stop once I found a good place to pull over.

Anyway, St. Pete Powersports did a great job of putting my bike back together.  I was on the road again!  I rode about 400 miles to Perry, Georgia.  There I met up with Eric and we took a couple of days to ride home via Moonshiner 28 and Deal’s Gap.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

